About Us

wordle collage

The Gloucester County Library System (GCLS) is a group of individual and interdependent libraries that cooperate through a central administrative body to provide a wide range of library services for eligible patrons. Sharing resources enables members of the system to provide more cost-effective and technologically sophisticated services than any could provide operating alone.

The GCLS staff is responsible to a five-member library commission, which is appointed by the Gloucester County Board of County Commissioners. Funds for system services are provided by the member municipalities through a dedicated library tax. Of the 24 municipalities in Gloucester County, these 14 currently belong:

Clayton Harrison Twp. South Harrison Twp.
E. Greenwich Twp. Logan Twp. Swedesboro
Elk Twp. Mantua Twp. Woodbury Hgts.
Glassboro National Park Woolwich Twp.
Greenwich Twp. Newfield  

All residents of these communities have free access to the full services of the Gloucester County Library System through libraries located in the following towns:

Glassboro Harrison Twp. Newfield
Greenwich Twp. Logan Twp. Swedesboro

Library cards are issued without charge to residents of the 14 participating communities; nonresident owners of property in a member community; not-for-profit organizations within Gloucester County; educators teaching in Gloucester County; county department heads; and those holding elected/appointed positions in county, state, or federal government.