Get a Library Card

Getting a Library Card

The Gloucester County Library System (GCLS) issues library cards to residents of the 14 GCLS member communities who pay a dedicated county library tax. Residents of the following communities in Gloucester County qualify for access to GCLS library services with required proof of residency:

Clayton Harrison South Harrison
East Greenwich Logan Swedesboro
Elk Mantua Woolwich
Glassboro National Park Woodbury Heights
Greenwich Newfield  

The Gloucester County Library System issues library cards in-person at any one of our branches located Glassboro, Greenwich, Logan, Mullica Hill, and Swedesboro. A photo ID and proof of residency must be presented in the form of any one of the following:

  • NJ Drivers License
  • NJ non-driver ID (issued by the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission)
  • Current municipal tax bill, utility bill, or bank statement showing individual's name and address, and a photo ID
  • Out-of-county owners of business or property located in a GCLS member community must show proof of business or property ownership, and a photo ID 

Digital library cards are also available for residents of the member communities. These can be applied for online and allow access to our downloadable and online books, audiobooks, movies, music, magazines and more in addition to our research databases.

Expired or lost cards
GCLS cards are renewed every 2 years. Please don't throw away your old card! Renew your card by presenting it to circulation staff along with your current driver's license. Your card will be updated. There is a $1 fee to replace a lost library card. If you have forgotten your card, you may present your driver's license.

Non-resident cards
Out-of-County residents (excluding Cumberland and Salem counties) may purchase access to GCLS library services for an annual fee of $100 per year. A six month membership may be purchased for $50.

GCLS is a member of the LOGIN consortium and honors library cards issued by libraries located throughout Gloucester, Cumberland, and Salem counties.